Winners!: Brain

I Want a Love Story

Like all good things, the 801 Manga Moveable Feast must come to an end. And with it ends our sharing of favourites (but if you want to hear my actual voice talking about some of these favourites, head over to Otaku Champloo for the first ever Fujojocast). Thanks to everyone who shared both in the comments and by email! Now I have some new fun things to read. It was tough picking a winner to receive a glorious package of Japanese R18 doujinshi, but in the end, I had to go with the wonderfully thorough descriptions sent in by Jennifer about her favourite BL Tomoko Yamashita’s I Want a Love Story. I mean, don’t you want to read the book after reading this:

It’s an anthology of a variety of stories, most of them about beginnings of relationships – awkwardly confessing to a friend; awkwardly confessing to that seemingly straight-laced salesman, who turns out to be into BDSM; the awkwardness of having sex with someone for the first time. The titular story takes up the most space. A man confesses to his best friend, and is surprised when his feelings are returned. How do you convert a relationship from friendship into something more? How can you experience the joy of being in love with someone who loves you when you are afraid of losing it all someday? “If right now…or some other time we were to separate…I probably wouldn’t forget those things. Years later, I’d still remember…you.” How could you not love a story with a line like that?

But the real reason I love this collection is for the story “Re: hello”. It is one of the most heartbreaking stories I have ever read. (Is it weird to want people to read such a sad story?)  It’s the kind of story you want to continue, because you so desperately hope that the character eventually finds happiness. It’s a different story in that it is told from the point of view of a man’s niece. She knows her uncle is gay, but doesn’t know much about his past. She can just wonder why he only has one-night-stands, why he has pack of cigarettes he doesn’t smoke, and why he has an old cell phone that he keeps charged. Everything is revealed when she reads the unsent texts on that phone. It really is a story that sticks with you long after you have read it.

This definitely goes on my list to read. Thanks, Jennifer!

But I can’t ignore the book that got a second vote over in the comments, Sakura Gari by Yuu Watase. Taking a peek at the synopsis online, it sounds a bit like Blue Morning at least in terms of the time period. And since I am really loving that series in large part because of the period, Sakura Gari sounds pretty tempting. So thanks, Jenny! (Bonus points for adding in Kaze to Ki no Uta! We all know how much I love that series.) Email me your mailing address and look forward to a doujinshi surprise in the mail someday soon!

Thanks again to everyone who shared their favourites with me and expanded my BL range. You have helped me to become  even more rotten!

Sakura Gari

Leave a Reply

